Hotels in Djibouti


Home   -   Search Hotels Articles   -   About us   -   Terms   -   Contact us

Search and Compare lowest hotel prices, Click and Go!



The Ultimate Online Hotel booking Reservation System



  Great Hotels in France, Germany, Uk, USA and all countries world wide



  Hotels By Continent



     Australia & NZ


     North America

     South America


  Contact us


  Browse Hotels By City:





Djibouti Jīibūutīi, Somali: Jabuuti), officially the Republic of Djibouti, is a country in the Horn of Africa. Djibouti is bordered by Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. The remainder of the border is formed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden. On the other side of the Red Sea, on the Arabian Peninsula, 20 kilometres (12 mi) from the coast of Djibouti, is Yemen. The capital of Djibouti is the city of Djibouti.


  • Main article: History of Djibouti
  • The history of Djibouti is recorded in poetry and songs of its nomadic people and goes back thousands of years to a time when Djiboutians traded hides and skins for the perfumes and spices of ancient Egypt, India, and China. Through close contacts with the Arabian peninsula for more than 1,000 years, the Somali and Afar tribes in this region became among the first on the African continent to accept Islam.
  • French interest developed in the nineteenth century when the area was ruled by the sultan of Raheita, Tadjoura and Gobaad. The French purchased the anchorage of Obock in 1862 and expanded it eventually to a colony called French Somaliland with essentially the current boundaries. In 1967 the area became the French overseas territory of the Afars and the Issas.

    The Republic of Djibouti gained its independence from France on June 27, 1977. Djibouti is a Somali, Arab and Islamic country which regularly takes part in Islamic affairs as well as Arab meetings.

    Regions and districts

    • Main articles: Regions of Djibouti and Districts of Djibouti
  • Djibouti is divided into 5 regions and one city. It is further subdivided into 11 districts.
  • The regions and city are:

    • Ali Sabieh Region (Region d'Ali Sabieh)
    • Arta Region (Region d'Arta)
    • Dikhil Region (Region de Dikhil)
    • Djibouti (city) (Ville de Djibouti)
    • Obock Region (Region d'Obock)
    • Tadjourah Region (Region de Tadjourah

    Home   -   Search Hotels Articles   -   About us   -   Terms   -   Contact us

    © Copyright  2009   All rights reserved. are not responsible for any mistakes in hotel materials, written or any other kind.

    No part of this website may be reproduced or copied in any form.

               Site designed and maintained by Ocean Impact Group